Let Kindness Start with You

The July challenge for Linus’ “12 Months of Kindness” campaign is 8 days late… and it’s my fault.

Back in December, I wrote down challenge ideas for each of the 12 months that lay ahead. I wanted to make sure I wouldn’t get stuck for ideas; I’d be ready to write every month. But sometimes, life gets in the way.

I have to travel a lot for work and I’ve been stuck an extra night on each of the last two trips due to weather or airplane mechanical issues. I’m preparing for a move in a few weeks to a new construction home and that means scheduling time with fence people, window treatment people, fridge shopping, etc. And then I caught a cold. I was feeling bad physically and also feeling bad about not getting this month’s challenge posted when it hit me…

IMG_1647

This is a kindness campaign! The kind of people that follow a blog like this don’t mind if it’s a little late. You are the kind of people that care about others – about their health and happiness. You do nice things for people all the time. You put others before yourselves on a daily basis.

So why have I been so hard on myself about this?

It seems to me that my biggest critic is… me. I suspect this may be true for many of you as well. My friends and loved ones don’t care if I’ve gained a few pounds or if there isn’t a dining table in the new house right away or if I have to cancel a lunch date because I’m stuck in an airport somewhere – but these things weigh heavily on my mind.

So, I’ve scrapped the planned challenge I had for July and instead I’m going to ask each of you to show a little kindness to yourself. Give yourself a compliment, treat yourself to a mani/pedi, go ahead and have dessert. Let’s bring this kindness campaign back home because the world might be a little brighter if we feel good about ourselves.

One of my favorite things about Linus has always been his little snaggle tooth. Let’s learn to love our flaws too.

IMG_3262And if you are feeling brave enough, post a comment here or on Linus’ Facebook page telling everyone one thing you love about yourself. You may be surprised how freeing it will feel.

Love,

Linus’ mom

 

6 thoughts on “Let Kindness Start with You

  1. Welp, I’d hate to disappoint Linus by not following challenge orders. SO, I got a pedicure! July challenge completed =)

      • So sweet =) I do really like the idea behind this month’s challenge…but I must agree, we are all our own WORST critic! Ok, so here goes nothing…. I’ll pay myself a compliment. LOL! I think I’m really strong and I am good at showing people I appreciate them. Now what about YOU?!???

  2. What a lovely idea…and a beautiful post at that!!!! Linus is beyond a.dor.a.ble, you can’t help but smile when you see that face!!!! I have to make a note to find you on fb now too!!!! -Hugs and blessings during your move!!!!

Please leave a note!

