Reflections on a Half Year of Kindness

It’s June which makes it the 6th month in my “12 Months of Kindness” campaign. Half-way through! I just can’t believe how fast these months have passed and couldn’t be more thrilled with the way you have embraced each challenge.

IMG_3545This project is about making the world a better, kinder place. It’s about committing to just one small act every month that causes another being to have a better day. It’s about the possibility of setting in motion a chain reaction of kind acts that motivate others to carry on what you’ve started.

I told you in the beginning that this thing could be big and six months into it, all I can tell you is that I am NOT disappointed. You’ve left kind notes for random people, made donations of all kinds, literally picked up trash in your communities and educated yourselves (and me!) on a variety of mental illnesses.

Yep, you are good. You are kind. You make me smile every day.

I sat down to write this month’s challenge and instead ended up reflecting on all that we’ve done. It occurred to me that the act of reflection itself can have a great impact. When someone does something nice for you, don’t you feel nicer yourself? I think so!

So… I scrapped the challenge I intended to set before you and instead we are going to spend this month reflecting on what others have done for us. We’re going to celebrate those kind acts in hopes that sharing them will inspire others.

Kindness really is this simple.

There are Super Heroes among us! If someone did something nice for you or you witnessed a random act of kindness, please take a moment to share it here in my blog comments or on my Facebook page. I’m certain your stories will fuel us through the rest of the year.

IMG_3640

Go now and spread the kindness friends!

10 thoughts on “Reflections on a Half Year of Kindness

  1. So, for the last day of this month’s challenge, I wanted to share with you a kind thing that my friend did. My Mom came to viist this weekend. Well, my friend went out of her way to make my Mom some biscotti, even though she had never met her and surprised me with it with ribbon on it and all. Is that not the sweetest thing?!??? So thoughtful!

  2. I have a fabulous friend that needed sunglasses. I always carry an extra pair (I’m sensitive!) so I let her use them. She asked if she could buy them from me and I told her NO WAY! Keep Em! Instead, she gave me 5X the amount I paid for them and told me to give the money to my favorite rescue. How cool is that?!??? So NICE!

  3. Hi Linus, I LOVE your new hair cut!!!! My mom told me all about it after she came back from seeing you and your mom. Please post a picture so everybody else can see it too. I always love being around you and am so inspired and encouraged to do better things for others. You know, none of us is ever really alone in life even though we feel like we are, so my Mom and I have been making sure we drop in to see someone who we think needs a visit or a phone call….it makes a difference on both ends. Keep up the good work and lets get together soon. Windi

  4. Linus, it is no wonder you inspire so many. Your looks alone could persuade the masses to do just about anything you wish. Hope you are having a fabulous weekend. Much love, The Scottie Mom.

  5. Linus you inspire me … You’ve made me think about what little acts of kindness I can do every day and I think that’s brought joy to our days…Thank you!

Please leave a note!

