Doggie DIY – Pillowcase Dog Bed

IMG_1801IMG_1803IMG_1799

Looking for an easy, inexpensive way to create a custom bed for your dog? You are in the right place!

IMG_1773

What you need:

  • Pillowcase
  • Bleach in a spray bottle
  • Freezer paper
  • Scissors
  • Iron
  • Cardboard
  • Some sort of stuffing (an actual pillow will be fine, or use a washable poly-fill)

What you’ll do:

1. Cut out the desired pattern or words in freezer paper and iron into place on the pillowcase with the shiny side down. (I ironed fairly lightly as I was afraid of burning the paper).IMG_1788

2. Insert cardboard between the two layers of the pillowcase, then spray the front side with bleach. You’ll notice the color starting to change fairly immediately. I stripped the freezer paper after just a few minutes, while the bleach was still damp.

IMG_1789IMG_1791IMG_1793

I did a test run on the covers the pillowcases came in. I sprayed the heart on the left lightly and removed the freezer paper while the bleach was still damp. For the hearts on the right, I sprayed the bleach heavily and waited until the fabric was completely dry before removing the freezer paper. In the photo on the right I played with letting large drops of bleach fall on the fabric. There are lots of options here and I would encourage you to play around! It would also be cool to do a reverse affect, where you cover a large portion of the pillowcase in freezer paper and bleach out the image itself.

IMG_1784IMG_1792

3. Allow the project to dry, then send it through a cycle in your washer and dryer. When it’s dry, just put a pillow in it and call it a day OR turn it inside out and stitch up 3/4 of the open side. Turn it right side back out, fill with stuffing, and sew up the opening that remains.

IMG_1800IMG_1795   

There are a lot of fun things you can do with this! Maybe just a simple dog silhouette or your dog’s name would be fantastic and you could choose from many, many colors of pillowcases. This would also make a great gift for someone who just rescued a dog or even a housewarming gift.

Don’t limit this technique to a dog bed either! I think I’ll give the chevron patterned pillowcase above to the local children’s hospital. They welcome pillowcase crafts as it makes the patients feel a little more at home. I think this pattern would be great for maybe a tween-age boy.

Wouldn’t this also be a fun rainy day project for your kids? 

I’d love to see your finished projects and hear about what you’ve done with them. Please post a pic to my Facebook page… your work never fails to inspire others.

6 thoughts on “Doggie DIY – Pillowcase Dog Bed

    • I did a couple test samples (see the heart pics). One I sprayed pretty lightly and the other very heavily. You’ll see the difference, for sure. The heavily sprayed one did bleed under the paper… but that was a cool look to. I chose to do a light spray over the words and the chevron pattern because I thought they needed crisper lines. I also removed the paper while the fabric was still damp with the bleach so I didn’t risk it soaking up in the paper to the fabric. Can’t wait to see what you are working on! 🙂

Please leave a note!

